Finding the right colors and materials

Just a few weeks before we moved in, I was still trying hard to find the colors I wanted for the sewing room. I had a plan to follow the collage, and I wanted to find orange paint and wall-to-wall carpet in light pink. The problem was that the orange color I picked was a bit too dark for the light pink carpet, so we found a darker pink carpet that fitted much better. However, all of the orange colors I found were either too bright or more yellow/beige looking.

I went to the store with a friend, and then I took a trip to the store by myself to find out what I wanted before asking my boyfriend to join the next round.

In the third round to the store, my boyfriend joined me, and I was so glad he did, because he did ask the right questions to me and picked out colors and materials that he thought looked nice together with me.  

After looking at it for a while, we agreed that we had found the perfect match. An orange colored wall and a brown wall-to-wall carpet.

Since it was already two weeks before we were going to move in, I thought I could order the wall-to-wall carpet as it takes a few weeks before getting it. It was a bit of a shock when I saw the price for the carpet and decided not to buy the wall-to-wall carpet. I became sad, and the reason I wanted the brown carpet, was to make it fit the orange paint I had chosen. The floor that already was in the sewing room has a wooden floor with a “yellow wood” look and not the “clean brown” I wanted or gray as the rest of our apartment. The orange color would not harmonize with the floor, and that did anger me until we moved in and I could study the room more.

After little while, I decided to find paint that would fit the “yellow” wood floor in the sewing room, and I tried my best to be a good interior consultant for myself, with finding a good color (with my boyfriend’s help) that I could thrive in, and not get tired of.

Warm blush is the name of the color

After painting the room, I needed to match the furniture’s materials together. Most of the furniture’s were white, but me and my boyfriend decided to use some foil contact paper to redesign some of the all-white furniture’s.

It gave some more warmth to the room, and gave the wooden floor some more harmony with the room.

When it comes to minor decorations, like the frames around pictures and mirror, doorknobs and other decorations at all, I stayed with gold and white. It gave the room the final touch for the style I have.

I do have “softer” materials in the room, like lace curtains, a velour storage box and a small carpet that did not cost all the money I had (still traumatized of the price for the wall-to-wall carpet).

Leave a comment