Making a collage for the sewing room

From the moment we found and bought the apartment, I decided to make a plan for every room.

However, we were already happy with the furniture we had from before and had already decided before we went looking for a new home, that we already wanted to use the furniture we had from before, were going in join us in the new apartment. The only thing we did was to change the covers on our sofa, buy new a bed and a few “smaller” upgrade to furniture and creating a smarter place for us (storage for shoes and clothes). After a month, we had to buy a new fridge. That was one of the things that was not on the list this autumn, but we knew it would happen anytime soon.

In addition, the paint and color in the apartment did fit our style, so we decided to keep it as it is (except from the sewing room, as the color was too dark). The floor seems to be quite new and our bathroom was renovated just a few years ago (ca. two years) and the kitchen did get new “façade” in 2019. I do wish I could have “fixed” the kitchen floor and the wall but I would have to demolish the kitchen and I do not really want to do that right now, as I do like the kitchen interior.

Since we were happy with everything in the apartment I did not make a collage or proper plan on how I wanted things to look like, but I made a simple drawing just to try to picture it.

The orange mark is the sewing room

However, when it comes to the sewing room I had a few ideas, but it was a bit hard to picture all of it, as I did not know completely how big the room was when I planned it. Therefore, I decided just to make a collage with what I wanted and needed in the room. In addition to what kind of color and material I wanted.

It is very funny to create a collage for a room, for myself, as an interior consultant. I have never really designed a room for me; I have usually designed for my partner and me or for other people, as an interior consultant should!

Nevertheless, I have never made a collage and a plan, and seen how it turned out properly, and now I see that this collage is just an inspiration and not an actual color and material collage. I think that when I made this collage, I wanted something different than I have ever had. I wanted this room to feel like my workplace, sewing room and office. My idea was when I open the door to this room, I am not home but in my “happy” working space.

I think I tried too hard to create a room with a lighter color, trendy, clean, a little bit more Scandinavian or minimalistic styleand just something different from what I usually want, while also staying true to my style.

Therefore, in the next post I will show you more of the colors and materials I wanted, and what I ended up getting!

Leave a comment